Compare · Manual web testing toolkit
MyPentest vs Burp Suite: an honest comparison.
Burp Suite is what professional pentesters use by hand. MyPentest is for the team that owns the app and wants it tested without becoming a pentester. Both can belong in the same company.
Facts about Burp Suite checked on 24 September 2026 against their own pages.
At a glance
Two different tools for two different jobs.
MyPentest · by BugSnaps
A hosted automated penetration test for web apps and their APIs: discovery, 56 passive and safe-active checks, signed-in access-control testing, and a report with evidence, CVSS and fixes.
Best for: Developers and founders who want their app tested without learning to drive a proxy.
Burp Suite · PortSwigger
The standard desktop toolkit for web pentesters - proxy, Repeater, Intruder and (in Professional) an automated scanner.
Best for: Security professionals who test by hand and need full control over every request.
Feature by feature
What MyPentest and Burp Suite each do.
Including where MyPentest says no. Where Burp Suite's site doesn't say, we don't guess.
| Feature | MyPentest | Burp Suite |
|---|---|---|
| Getting started | ||
| Hosted - nothing to install | YesRuns in the browser at bugsnaps.in | NoProfessional is a desktop application |
| Free way to start | YesFree plan with the whole engine, no card | YesCommunity Edition (manual tools); Professional trial |
| No AI/LLM API key of your own needed | YesNothing to configure | Yes |
| Prices published on the website | YesIn rupees; a single paid scan or monthly plans | YesProfessional listed at $499 per user |
| Testing | ||
| Automated testing of a live web app | YesCrawl, then 56 passive and safe-active checks | YesScanner in Professional and Burp Suite DAST |
| Signed-in (authenticated) testing | YesSigns in as your test accounts and checks one user can't read another's data | YesAuthenticated scanning listed |
| REST / GraphQL API testing | YesDiscovered REST, GraphQL and OpenAPI endpoints | Yes |
| Exploitation / working proof-of-concept | NoBy design: harmless probes only, nothing is changed | YesBy hand, with Repeater and Intruder |
| Coverage beyond the web app | ||
| Network & infrastructure scanning | NoWeb apps and their APIs only | No |
| Cloud configuration scanning | No | No |
| Source-code analysis (SAST) | No | No |
| Workflow | ||
| Pentest service from the same company | YesExpert-led BugSnaps engagements | NoSells tools, not testing |
| CI/CD or ticketing integrations | PartlySARIF and Markdown exports; no native pipeline integration yet | PartlyVia the Burp Suite DAST edition |
| Compliance reports or certifications | NoCVSS 3.1, CWE and CISA KEV on findings; no compliance report packs | Not stated on their site |
| Open source / self-hostable | No | PartlyRuns on your machine; not open source; 300+ extensions |
- Yes
- Partly
- No
- Not stated on their site
Pros and cons
Strengths and trade-offs - ours too.
Every tool gives something up. Here's what each one does well, and what you accept by choosing it.
MyPentest
Strengths
- No expertise needed - it maps and tests the app for you
- Hosted, nothing to install, results saved to your account
- A structured report with CVSS, confidence and fixes, ready for engineers
- Starts free
Trade-offs
- Far less control - you can't hand-craft or replay requests
- Can't find what only a human finds: business logic and chained attacks
- No extensions or custom checks
Burp Suite
Strengths
- The industry-standard manual toolkit - unmatched control over every request
- Huge extension ecosystem (300+ BApps)
- Community Edition is free for learning
- A human can exploit and chain issues that no automated tool finds
Trade-offs
- Needs a skilled operator - the value is in the person using it
- Desktop software, licensed per user; licences can't be shared
- Community Edition has no automated scanner
Pricing
What each one costs.
MyPentest
- FreeFree - 1 scan a month
- Strike₹399 once - one full scan, to use within 30 days
- Hunter₹999 per month - 5 scans a month
- Operator₹1,999 per month - 15 scans a month
Paid through Razorpay, in rupees. Nothing renews automatically.
Full pricingBurp Suite
- Community Edition: free (manual tools).
- Professional: listed at $499 per user; each user needs their own licence.
- Burp Suite DAST (enterprise scanning): quote.
As listed on their site on 24 September 2026. Check theirs for current prices.
Burp Suite's siteThe verdict
Which one should you choose?
Choose MyPentest if…
You own the app and want it tested for you, repeatably, without becoming a pentester.
Run MyPentest freeChoose Burp Suite if…
You or your team are pentesters who want hands-on control - or you want to learn web security.
Need more than any automated tool gives you? A BugSnaps manual pentest covers business logic and chained attacks, with retesting of fixes.
FAQ
MyPentest vs Burp Suite: common questions.
Does MyPentest replace a pentester with Burp Suite?
No. MyPentest covers the repeatable part - discovery, known issue classes, cross-user access control - on every release. A skilled tester with a manual toolkit still finds business-logic flaws and chained attacks that automation can't; that is what a BugSnaps engagement is for.
Sources
Checked on 24 September 2026. Products change - if something here is out of date, tell us and we'll correct it. Burp Suite is a trademark of its owner; BugSnaps is not affiliated with PortSwigger.
Try MyPentest before you decide.
Sign in, prove you own the domain, and MyPentest maps and tests it. No credit card.