Compare · PTaaS + vulnerability scanner
MyPentest vs Astra Security: an honest comparison.
Astra bundles scanners, an AI pentest and human pentesters under one subscription. MyPentest is narrower and starts free. Here's an honest look at both.
Facts about Astra Security checked on 24 September 2026 against their own pages.
At a glance
Two different tools for two different jobs.
MyPentest · by BugSnaps
A hosted automated penetration test for web apps and their APIs: discovery, 56 passive and safe-active checks, signed-in access-control testing, and a report with evidence, CVSS and fixes.
Best for: Teams who want to find and fix real web-app issues quickly and cheaply, before paying for a certified audit.
Astra Security · Astra IT, Inc.
A pentest-as-a-service platform combining a DAST scanner, an autonomous pentest and expert manual pentests, with compliance views.
Best for: Companies that need a pentest certificate for a compliance audit and want scanning, cloud checks and human testers from one vendor.
Feature by feature
What MyPentest and Astra Security each do.
Including where MyPentest says no. Where Astra Security's site doesn't say, we don't guess.
| Feature | MyPentest | Astra Security |
|---|---|---|
| Getting started | ||
| Hosted - nothing to install | YesRuns in the browser at bugsnaps.in | Yes |
| Free way to start | YesFree plan with the whole engine, no card | Partly$7 one-week trial |
| No AI/LLM API key of your own needed | YesNothing to configure | Yes |
| Prices published on the website | YesIn rupees; a single paid scan or monthly plans | YesIn USD; Scanner Lite from $69/month |
| Testing | ||
| Automated testing of a live web app | YesCrawl, then 56 passive and safe-active checks | YesScanner with 10,000+ tests listed |
| Signed-in (authenticated) testing | YesSigns in as your test accounts and checks one user can't read another's data | Yes |
| REST / GraphQL API testing | YesDiscovered REST, GraphQL and OpenAPI endpoints | YesSeparate API security plans |
| Exploitation / working proof-of-concept | NoBy design: harmless probes only, nothing is changed | Not stated on their site |
| Coverage beyond the web app | ||
| Network & infrastructure scanning | NoWeb apps and their APIs only | Not stated on their site |
| Cloud configuration scanning | No | YesAWS, Azure, GCP (separate plans) |
| Source-code analysis (SAST) | No | Not stated on their site |
| Workflow | ||
| Pentest service from the same company | YesExpert-led BugSnaps engagements | YesPentest Expert plan |
| CI/CD or ticketing integrations | PartlySARIF and Markdown exports; no native pipeline integration yet | YesCI/CD, Jira, Slack |
| Compliance reports or certifications | NoCVSS 3.1, CWE and CISA KEV on findings; no compliance report packs | YesSOC 2, ISO 27001, PCI-DSS, HIPAA views; publicly verifiable certificate |
| Open source / self-hostable | No | PartlyOn-premise on Enterprise |
- Yes
- Partly
- No
- Not stated on their site
Pros and cons
Strengths and trade-offs - ours too.
Every tool gives something up. Here's what each one does well, and what you accept by choosing it.
MyPentest
Strengths
- Free plan with the whole engine - no card, no trial clock
- Priced in rupees with UPI and Indian cards through Razorpay, and never auto-renews
- A single full pentest for one payment (Strike) instead of a subscription
- Every finding carries a confidence level, and pattern matches alone are never reported
Trade-offs
- No compliance certificate or compliance report views
- No cloud or network scanning
- Fewer checks - 56 focused checks, not a 10,000-test library
- Manual pentests are a separate BugSnaps engagement, not a plan tier
Astra Security
Strengths
- One vendor for DAST, API, cloud scanning and expert manual pentests
- Compliance views (SOC 2, ISO 27001, PCI-DSS, HIPAA) and a publicly verifiable pentest certificate
- Large published test library for its scanner
- Human re-scans included on pentest plans
Trade-offs
- Priced in USD, per target, with separate plans for web, API and cloud
- The entry scanner plan caps scans (3 a month on Scanner Lite)
- No free plan - the trial costs $7 for a week
Pricing
What each one costs.
MyPentest
- FreeFree - 1 scan a month
- Strike₹399 once - one full scan, to use within 30 days
- Hunter₹999 per month - 5 scans a month
- Operator₹1,999 per month - 15 scans a month
Paid through Razorpay, in rupees. Nothing renews automatically.
Full pricingAstra Security
- Scanner Lite $69/month ($699/year), Scanner $199/month, Scanner Agency $499/month.
- Pentest Auto $199/month or $2,999/year; Pentest Expert from $5,999/year; Enterprise from $9,999/year.
- API and cloud security are separate plans. Trial: $7 for one week.
As listed on their site on 24 September 2026. Check theirs for current prices.
Astra Security's siteThe verdict
Which one should you choose?
Choose MyPentest if…
You want to find and fix your web app's real issues first - free, or for a one-off rupee price - and book an expert test when an audit needs one.
Run MyPentest freeChoose Astra Security if…
An auditor or customer needs a pentest certificate, and you want scanners, cloud checks and human testers under one contract.
Need more than any automated tool gives you? A BugSnaps manual pentest covers business logic and chained attacks, with retesting of fixes.
FAQ
MyPentest vs Astra Security: common questions.
Does MyPentest give a pentest certificate like Astra?
No. MyPentest reports are for engineers: evidence, CVSS 3.1, confidence and fixes. If you need an attestation for customers or auditors, a BugSnaps engagement includes an executive summary written for that.
Why is MyPentest cheaper?
It does less: web apps and their APIs only, no cloud or network scanning, no human in the loop on the automated plans. That focus is what makes a free plan and a single-scan price possible.
Sources
Checked on 24 September 2026. Products change - if something here is out of date, tell us and we'll correct it. Astra Security is a trademark of its owner; BugSnaps is not affiliated with Astra IT, Inc..
Try MyPentest before you decide.
Sign in, prove you own the domain, and MyPentest maps and tests it. No credit card.